MOOC protocol: Holy s#*%! I don’t know anything

It just dawned on me that I really don’t know anything about social media protocol. Should I use everyone’s first names when I mention what they said or did online that makes me think or intrigues me? Have I done my blog roll the right way, or should I use first names for that? Holy moly.

I'm so totally holy molying.

I’m so totally holy molying.

I haven’t done blogging in “public” before, so I really don’t know. I’ve used it here to think, to exercise my brain, and for teaching on a lot of sites, but because of FERPA, I have never used students’ names on blog rolls before.

BUT my participation in a MOOC is a different story–it’s open. And I would guess most of my co-MOOCers are okay with being in the public eye as they have already begun participating under their shared (or real?) names. Never even thought about this issue before until I saw a fellow-blogger’s page of links (which is really cool).

Huh. I’m learning with each click I make. What a thing. Going over to Facebook next to ask if anyone knows of guidelines for this sort of thing.

LOVE this new thing to think about.

5 Comments

Filed under MOOC Journeys

5 responses to “MOOC protocol: Holy s#*%! I don’t know anything

  1. Hello Elizabeth, your blog is really fun to read! You have a great writing style, and I found myself nodding along with a lot of the points you made. Hope to read more as we MOOC on.
    Chris

  2. Hi Elizabeth 🙂 I look forward to hearing what others have to say about this, because I don’t know anything either – I just hope I don’t offend anyone! thanks for raising the question and engaging in the mutual readathon!

  3. Thanks to you both, Chris and Emily, for reading! This is so much fun. Who knew? If we’re having such a great time now, what will the course be like, and how terrific will that be? I think this pre-org stuff will make learning in the course a lot easier.

  4. Hi Elizabeth! Thank you for your posts, I really enjoy reading them! It’s a totally new experience for me. I only wish I had more time for posting and commenting:) It’s great to be engaged in all this pre-org stuff and meet so many interesting people and feel their support before the start of the
    course! Isn’t it a part of Digital Culture?

    • Hi Elena–I agree–all the pre-org stuff seems to be what digital culture is all about. A few online/digital veterans jumped in and created spaces for everyone to connect, and we did! Look forward to seeing you online as we go along. I’m looking forward to being a student and learning more–though this head start has made me less worried than I might have been otherwise. Nice to digitally meet you!

Leave a Reply

