Post while you can

I have had several friends talk to me about the end of the world, or the apocalypse, seen numerous FB posts or news stories, films, all about the end that is scheduled for 21 December 2012. Bunk, I say. But if I’m wrong, you better get thee to a blog and post while you can.

I’m right, though, and here’s why: it’s the bicentenary of Robert Browning and Charles Dickens this year (mentioned this in a previous post), and nothing untoward could possibly happen to mar this year. I do love the hullabaloo surrounding the whole end-of-days thing. Some folks need to have a hobby–and there are worse things to focus on than this. I suppose.

Stars. They fall on Alabama.

Stars. They fall on Alabama. Stars are supposed to play some key part in the apocalypse. Right. When pigs fly.

I think I’ll just make a play list, gaze at the stars, and plan to do all my holiday shopping at the last minute from Dec. 22 to Dec. 24, like I do every year.

And if some transformative event happens, I will roll with it. I am in favor of transformation. Change is life; as a friend says, “when you’re through changing, you’re through.”

To have fun with my playlist, I think I’ll include all the songs I know that are about change. I think I’ll name the list: “Post-Apocalypse Change Or Die Trying” Playlist (PACODT List). (I should have really saved this post until 22 December, but if I’m wrong and I go down swinging, you, gentle reader, may hunt me down and say: “I told you so; you suck; you were so wrong; welcome to the Dark Side.” Or whatever comes to mind to humiliate me for my hubris.)

Number one on the list has to be Sheryl Crow’s “A Change Would Do You Good.” I think that’s the point of all apocalypse talk–we may be “waiting on the world to change,” but there’s no question that “change is gonna come,” and it will “do you good,” because “the more things change,” the more they stay the same; we all know you’re “going through changes,” so you’ll need to “roll with the changes,” but remember “some things never change,” even if “some people change.” And ch-ch-ch-changes are all about transformations, and before you know it, the apocalypse might “change the world.”

Let’s hope the apocalypse is about fab intellectual transformations that come about through open hearts, open minds, and open educational resources. These are “changes in latitudes, changes in attitudes” that I could really get behind.

The PACODT List: song title, artist.

  • A Change Would Do You Good, Sheryl Crow
  • Change, Churchill
  • Change, Taylor Swift
  • Change, Carrie Underwood
  • Change, Tracy Chapman
  • Change, John Waite
  • Changes, 2Pac & Talent (thank goodness someone tossed in an “s”)
  • Change, Blind Melon
  • Change, Lecrae
  • Changes, David Bowie
  • Change, Tears for Fears
  • Change, T-Pain
  • Change, Sean Kingston
  • Change, Kim Hyun-a
  • Change, Diddy
  • Are thinking what I am? Get a damn thesaurus people. I found one online in 6 seconds with over 75 possible OTHER words for “change.”
  • Change, Staind
  • Change, Black Stone Cherry
  • Change, Lloyd Banks
  • Change, Kimberley Locke
  • Change, Good Charlotte
  • Changes, 3 Doors Down
  • There are many, many more. Oh have mercy anyway. Let’s change this up a bit and go with more than just “change” as the main title of the song.
  • And just in case you notice, the below argue for and against change–depending on whether a job’s been lost, a love lost, or a chance lost. Or in the case of Hank Williams, Jr., he just has an axe to grind about change.
  • Waiting on the World to Change, John Mayer
  • A Change is Gonna Come, Sam Cooke (this is the first and my favorite, but I must say Seal treats this song with grace; not mad for Al Green’s version, but Otis Redding is very fine with this)
  • Going Through Changes, Eminem
  • Change My Mind, One Direction
  • Don’t Change for Me, Gin Blossoms
  • Change the World, Eric Clapton (oh sigh)
  • Change Your Mind, Sister Hazel
  • Cool Change, Little River Band
  • Some People Change, Montgomery Gentry
  • Roll with the Changes, REO Speedwagon
  • What I Cannot Change, LeAnn Rimes
  • We Never Change, Coldplay
  • We Can Change, Belinda Carlisle
  • Changes in Latitudes, Changes in Attitudes, Jimmy Buffett
  • I’d Love to Change the World, Ten Years After
  • Don’t Change, INXS
  • Never Change, Jay-Z
  • Never Gonna Chang, Drive-By Truckers
  • See the Changes, Crosby, Stills & Nash
  • The More Things Change, Bon Jovi
  • Keep the Change, Hank Williams, Jr.
  • Some Things Never Change, Sara Evans
  • Some People Change, Kenny Chesney
  • Am I Ever Gonna Change, Extreme
  • I Don’t Want to Change the World, Ozzy Osbourne
  • Change It, Stevie Ray Vaughn
  • Weekend Sex Change, The Dillinger Escape Plan (I couldn’t leave this one out)
  • This Changes Everything, Dead Sara (a little of this)
  • That Changes Everything, John Michael Montgomery (and a little of that)
  • Money Changes Everything, Cyndi Lauper
  • Love Changes Everything, Michael Ball, et al.
  • Nothing Ever Changes, Stevie Nicks
  • Ain’t No Change, The Be Good Tanyas
  • Baby, Don’t Change Your Mind, Gladys Knight and the Pips
  • Change or Die, Papa Roach
  • Change the World, Joan Jett & the Blackhearts
  • Things Change, 50 Cent
  • So Many Changes, Dan Fogelberg
  • I Wouldn’t Change You if I Could, Ricky Scaggs (thanks, Ricky–I appreciate that)
  • What Never Changes, Forevermore
  • There’ll Be Some Changes Made from Fosse (Go, Bob Fosse)
  • Changes I’ve Been Going Through, Mary J. Blige
  • Time Changes Everything, Bob Wills and His Texas Playboys (Johnny Cash rocks this song, too–just in case you’re interested in changing things up just a bit.)

There’s no better place to stop than on this song by Bob Wills and His Texas Playboys, because time does change everything.

Bob Wills and His Texas Playboys. Don't make 'em like that anymore, because "time changes everything."

Bob Wills and His Texas Playboys. They don’t make ’em like that anymore, because “time changes everything.”

1 Comment

Filed under Celebrate Like There's No Tomorrow, Feeling vulnerable?, Is Change Gonna Come?, Let's Go On With The Show, The Show Must Go On, Wish I Was A General

One response to “Post while you can

  1. The end comes for us all, just whether it comes at the same time for everyone! I think doomsday preppers have a strange obsession. Love your playlist, yes, I’ll start playing it on the 22nd!

Leave a Reply

